Demographic Profile

Pherzawl district is being inhabited by majority tribal communities with the presence of ignorable sections of non-tribal populace in the Barak valley. The tribal communities inhabiting the district are Hmar, Kuki, Paite, Simte, Gangte, Zou, Vaiphei etc. As per the Census 2011, the district has total population of 40930 persons which constitute 1.59% of the total state population (2572395). The total population consist of 20426 males and 19964 females. The district has the sex ratio of 977 females per 1000 males.

Electoral Profile

Pherzawl district is covered within 2-Outer Manipur Parliamentary Constituency (ST) wherein Shri Thangso Baite is the incumbent Hon’ble Member of Parliament (MP). The district has 2(two) Assembly Constituencies namely 55-Tipaimukh (ST) AC and 56-Thanlon (ST) AC. Dr. Chaltonlien Amo (INC) and Shri Vungzagin Valte (BJP) are the two elected incumbent Member of Legislative Assembly (MLA) respectively. There are 5(five) District Council Constituencies of Churachandpur Autonomous District Council within the district namely 5-Thanlon DCC, 6-Parbung DCC, 7-Vangai DCC, 8-Senvon DCC and 9-Ngajam area DCC.

The district has total electors of 35802 (Tipaimukh AC- 17834 and Thanlon AC- 17969) as per Final Electoral Roll, 2018 as on 01/01/2018.

Date of district creation 08.12.2016
Area (in Sq. kms) 2285
Latitude, Longitude 240 15’ 43.0524’ N, 93o 11’ 16.0440 E
No. of sub-divisions/blocks 3
No. of villages 99
Total No. of Households(Census 2011) 7181
Total population (Census 2011) 40390
Population (Male) 20426
Population (Female) 19964
No. of Police stations 2
No. of Assembly Constituency (AC) 2
No. of District Council Constituency 5
Total Electors in the district 35802