Administrative Setup

Pherzawl district consist of 4 (four) sub-divisions namely – Pherzawl (non-functional), Thanlon, Parbung-Tipaimukh and Vangai Range. Pherzawl village located at 195 km from Churachandpur Hq. along Tipaimukh Road (NH 150) is the District Headquarter of the district. There are total of 99(ninety nine) villages within the district. Thanlon sub-division consist of 46 villages (see Table 1), Vangai sub-division with 35 villages (see Table 2) and Parbung-Tipaimukh sub-division with 18 villages (see Table 3). The district has a total of 7181 households as per Census 2011.

Pherzawl was an administrative unit since 2006 with an Additional Deputy Commissioner at the helm until it was upgraded to a District level. The district is now administered by a Deputy Commissioner who is the head of administration in the district. The Deputy Commissioner in the administration of the district is supported by ADC, SDC and other field staffs. The administrations of sub-divisions are manned by a Sub-Divisional Officer who is also holding the dual charge of Block Development Officer for development initiatives and schemes.

The Superintendent of Police, Pherzawl is the head of police administration in the district supported by a Sub-Divisional Police Officer, Thanlon and Officer-in-Charge of 2(two) Police Stations namely – Thanlon and Parbung Police Station. Other District Level Officers presently functioning in the District are Divisional Forest Officer, Chief Medical Officer, Zonal Education Officer, Executive Engineer (PWD & PHED) etc.

Inspite of being a new district crippled by shortages of manpower, infrastructure gaps and other administrative challenges and issues, Pherzawl as a district is steadily delivering efficient and effective public services to the public.

Road connectivity issue is one of the infrastructure bottlenecks encountered by Pherzawl district. The main connecting lifeline of the the district with neighbouring Churachandpur district is the Tipaimukh Road (NH 150 now a part of the newly numbered NH 2) which pass through the district headquarter Pherzawl and other main villages of the district. Other important roads are Jiribam-Tipaimukh Road (JT Road), Nungba-Thanlon Road (NT Road), NEC Road and other inter-village roads connecting between habitations.

Telecom connectivity is another challenges faced by the district. Pherzawl district is yet to be linked with the rest of the world by mobile network sans few pockets where mobile network are signaled by distant cell towers of neighbouring districts or states. The presence of BSNL’s WLL connections in some of the villages are saviours which serves as SOS lines for the populace of the district.

Date of district creation 08.12.2016
Area (in Sq. kms) 2285
Latitude, Longitude 240 15’ 43.0524’ N, 93o 11’ 16.0440 E
No. of sub-divisions/blocks 3
No. of villages 99
Total No. of Households(Census 2011) 7181
Total population (Census 2011) 40390
Population (Male) 20426
Population (Female) 19964
No. of Police stations 2
No. of Assembly Constituency (AC) 2
No. of District Council Constituency 5
Total Electors in the district 35802